Previous phases
Previous
phases
 
 

Phase 1:  Establishment of PIREN-Seine (1989-1992)
Phase 2 :  GDR “man-made fluvial systems” (1993-1996)
Phases 3 and 4 :  The Seine, its drainage basin and its history (1998-2006)
Phase 5 : Health risks, landscapes, territories (2007-2010)

Phase 6 : (2011-2014)
 

Phase 1 :  Establishment of PIREN-Seine (1989-1992)

In the mid-80s, CNRS launched the first of the PIRENs – Interdisciplinary Environmental Research Programmes. Several PIREN projects focusing on major rivers subsequently emerged, including on the Rhône, Garonne, and the Plain of Alsace. In the Seine basin, where the technical and political chessboard in terms of water resource management is particularly complex and confrontational, it took until 1989 before Ghislain de Marsily succeeded in setting up the necessary dialogue between all of the institutional partners in the basin and the research organisations. In a very pragmatic way, the research axes were set up from the very start by combining the skills of the immediately mobilisable scientific teams with the need expressed by the operators.  Four relatively independent workshops were therefore set up, with foci on the impact of the Achères wastewater treatment plant in terms of the ecological function of the downstream areas of the river, on the evaluation of urban rainwater discharges, on the distribution and fate of water discharges from reservoir dams, and on the erosion of agricultural soil.

These initial objectives have widened considerably since the first years of the programme.  It quickly became apparent, for example, that the operation of the downstream reaches of the Seine could not be understood without incorporating this into the operation of the fluvial continuum as a whole. An original approach to model the hydrographic network in its entirety was developed based on the notion of drainage order, and served as the basis for the study of planktonic development and the transfer of nutrients to the upstream areas of the basin. The study of urban rainwater discharges required an overall vision of the operation of the sewerage networks and their impact on the environment.  It proved impossible to limit the work performed on water discharges from the reservoir dams solely to their hydraulic aspects, in the same way that work on the interaction of rain-drainage-agricultural soil, for which heavy field devices had been installed, could not take place without at the same time measuring the effects of pesticides and nitrates.

At the same time, relationships between the programme’s researchers and the water management institutions also expanded. The preparation of the new Water Act and the implementation of the Schéma Directeur d’Aménagement et de Gestion des Eaux (SDAGE – Outline for the Organisation of the Development and Management of Water Resources) raised specific questions regarding the overall management of the basin.

 

Phase 2 :  GDR “man-made fluvial systems” (1993-1996)

Against this background, the scientific objectives of the second phase of the programme were required to cover all of the processes associated with water quality in the basin in a much more global manner.  Whereas the focus during the first phase of the programme had been on the longitudinal dimension of the aquatic continuum (the upstream-downstream gradient), most of the effort this time was focused on the transversal interactions of the watercourses with their riparian areas (wetlands, hydraulic annexes). The role of the wetlands in the retention of nutrients from the drainage basin or the waterways themselves, the role of floodplains in pike breeding, the role of the reservoir dams as a source of organisms or as wells for nutrients and suspended matter, the role of the hydraulic annexes as areas for fish nutrition and breeding, inter alia, were thus studied in detail.  We also focused on developing a better understanding of the urban cycle of water and its associated pollutants, and of the fate of these pollutants in the fluvial environment.  Collectively, the results achieved by the end of this 2nd phase on these different topics provide an overall vision of the biogeochemical operation of the ‘Seine system’, seen in terms of the circulation of matter (suspended matter, nutrients, organic matter, oxygen, micro-pollutants) and trophic equilibria throughout the hydrographic network.

The uniform approach which underlies most of the work of the programme lies in the use of an original form of modelling, which is employed both as a tool for understanding as well as a means for decision-making.  In this case, understanding means to establish a link between the kinetics of these processes and the macroscopic operation of the ecosystem, as manifested by the flows of matter between its main constituents and their variation over space and time.  These models, as we see them, enable us to establish this link.   Once validated, these models also allow us to simulate a system response to a change in the constraints to which they are subjected.  Although they are reworked and expanded on an ongoing basis, these models are now perfectly operational and have already been used to simulate precise planning scenarios and to optimise the design thereof (improvements to the sanitation infrastructure in the Ile de France region, application of various European directives, etc.). These comprise the most tangible and most immediately useful product of the PIREN-Seine programme.

 

Phases 3 and 4 :  The Seine, its drainage basin and its history (1998-2006)

In January 1998, after drafting a summary work, “La Seine en son Bassin: Fonctionnement écologique d’un système fluvial anthropisé” (The Seine and its Basin: Ecological Operation of an Anthropised Fluvial System; Meybeck, et al. 1998), a third PIREN-Seine phase was established, under the direction of Gilles Billen, focus on two unified axes:

– The first of these axes was the result of a desire to better position the hydrographic network within the complex operation of its drainage basin.  This involved, for example, recognising nitric contamination as a manifestation of the emergence of the Earth’s nitrogen cycle associated with the development of modern agriculture and agri-food chain; analysing the flows of heavy-metals transferred by the fluvial network as an aspect of the ‘industrial metabolism’, i.e. as a consequence of production and consumption flows of these metals in industrial and domestic activities.  It was therefore necessary to make space for the industrial ecology of the ‘Seine system’ within our work on the ecology of the aquatic environment.

– The second unifying axis consisted of taking the longer term into account. Taking time into account is to recognise the dynamic nature of the hydrosystem, i.e. its present operation as the result of a history which must be pieced together, not only in a narrative or descriptive manner, but in terms of the details of the mechanisms involved. The models established to take this present operation into account must also be applicable to previous states of the hydrosystem, and enable the evolution of human activity along the basin to be linked with that of the operation of the ecosystem and of water quality.  This increase in the ‘depth of field’ of the models needed also to enable their use in an exploratory manner in order to determine the state of the hydrosystem corresponding to various future evolutionary scenarios in the socio-system which the basin sustains.

A special issue of the journal Science of the Total Environment (Human Activity and Material Fluxes in a regional River Basin: The Seine River watershed , 375, 1-292) made it possible to take stock of the achievements of these 8 years of research for the international scientific community.

 

Phase 5 : Health risks, landscapes, territories (2007-2010)

Jean Marie Mouchel took over the leadership role in 2007. The 5th phase of the programme which he established revolves around 3 components which expand the programme with new issues.

During this phase, a number of projects have thus focused on emerging micro-pollutants: new molecules with as-yet little-known effects, medications, pathogens. The risks which these substances may potentially pose to public health form the core of the questions under consideration.

On the landscape axis, it was a question of analysing not only the operation and quality of the environments (water courses, with a special emphasis on minor periurban rivers, wetlands, watersheds) but also the perception of riverside dwellers, and the social organisation which support its uses. Ecological engineering concerns are given full voice here.

The territories, carbon, nitrogen and global change component provides a new dimension to the previous programme initiatives on the linked cycles formed by carbon and nutrients in the basin. At the time of CAP reform and the rise in cereal and agri-fuel prices, the future of the Seine basin and the quality of its water necessarily underwent an analysis into which were integrated these multiple challenges connected with global change.

 

Phase 6 (2011-2014)

For its 6th phase, the PIREN-Seine programme proposed structuring its initiatives around 5 main research axes. These were drawn up to Answer the majority of the questions from our partners, and of course ensure a high level of consistency with the major challenges facing the Seine basin identified by its main stakeholders.

These were translated into objectives for our research, which can be summed up as follows:
– Propose scenarios for agriculture which are compatible with water quality requirements for the Seine basin;
– Identify the role of the wetlands, moving from localised studies to a functional overall vision on the scale of the Seine basin, including its emblematic wetland, the Bassée;
– Further define our understanding of the water quality in the fluvial axes, against a background of a very significant improvement while faced with the challenge of stricter good condition requirements;
– Understand the relationship between the chemical pressures and the ecological conditions in the basin where the impact of human activity is at its strongest, and evaluate the pressure/condition relationship over time;
– understand the chemical pressure and its dynamics over extended periods of time while differentiating between different factors, both human and linked to the physical environments which constitute the basin.

In support of these structural initiatives, and also because of their innate relevance, several transversal themes (represented by the steps in the figure below) were also developed. These were both standard bearers for specific scientific and technical developments as well as supports for the development of the aforementioned research axes:

Modelling which remains a major programme tool, supported by a dedicated research theme, particularly to coordinate common developments.

A special effort was made to develop databases structured in a more homogeneous manner for the programme as a whole, including for cartographic data. These have enabled the storage and retrieval of large quantities of new data to be acquired, as well as the results of the models, and enable the sharing of information, both internally and externally.

Historical cartography, which is also a research theme, was a particularly useful tool during this phase in terms of understanding the context and the meaning of the maps.

Finally, the transversal theme of change of scale was the subject of particular mention since a portion of the developed initiatives provided no support function for the research axes. The change of scale theme focuses on both the physical as well as the modelling, and the inhabitants of the basin.

 

Phase 7 (2015-2020)

Phases précédentes

Phases
précédentes
 
 

Phase 1 :  mise en place du PIREN-Seine (1989-1992)
Phase 2 :  le GDR “Systèmes fluviaux anthropisés” (1993-1996)
Phases 3 et 4 :  La Seine, son bassin versant et son histoire (1998-2006)
Phase 5 : Risques sanitaires, paysages, territoires (2007-2010)

Phase 6 : (2011-2014)
 

Phase 1 :  mise en place du PIREN-Seine (1989-1992)

Au milieu des années 80, le CNRS lance les premiers PIREN, Programmes Interdisciplinaires de Recherche sur l’Environnement. Plusieurs PIREN-Grands Fleuves voient le jour, sur le Rhône, sur la Garonne, sur la Plaine d’Alsace. Sur le bassin de la Seine, où l’échiquier technico-politique en matière de gestion des ressources en eaux était particulièrement complexe et conflictuel, il a fallu attendre 1989 pour que Ghislain de Marsily réussisse à mettre en place le dialogue nécessaire entre tous les partenaires institutionnels du bassin et les organismes de recherche. De manière très pragmatique, les axes de recherche ont été retenus au départ par le croisement des compétences des équipes scientifiques immédiatement mobilisables et des besoins exprimés par les gestionnaires.  Quatre ateliers relativement indépendants ont ainsi été mis en place, sur l’impact de la station d’épuration d’Achères en terme de fonctionnement écologique des secteurs aval du fleuve, sur l’évaluation des rejets urbains de temps de pluie, sur la propagation et le devenir des lâchures d’eau par les barrages réservoirs, sur l’érosion des sols agricoles.

Dès les premières années du programme, ces objectifs initiaux se sont considérablement élargis.  Il est vite apparu, par exemple, que le fonctionnement des biefs aval de la Seine ne pouvait être compris sans le replacer dans le fonctionnement du continuum fluvial tout entier. Une démarche originale pour la modélisation du réseau hydrographique dans son ensemble a été développée, basée sur la notion d’ordre de drainage, et a servi de base à l’étude du développement planctonique et du transfert des nutriments dans les parties amont du bassin. L’étude des rejets urbains de temps de pluie nécessitait une vision d’ensemble du fonctionnement des réseaux d’assainissement et de leur impact sur le milieu.  Les travaux menés sur les lâchures des barrages-réservoirs ne pouvaient se limiter à leurs seuls aspects hydrauliques, pas plus que les travaux sur l’interaction pluie-drainage-sol agricoles, pour lesquels des dispositifs lourds de terrains avaient été mis en place, ne pouvaient s’envisager sans la mesure simultanée des apports de pesticides et de nitrates.

Parallèlement, les rapports entre les chercheurs du programme et les institutions chargées de la gestion de l’eau se multipliaient. La préparation de la nouvelle Loi sur l’Eau et la mise en place du Schéma Directeur d’Aménagement et de Gestion des Eaux (SDAGE) suscitaient des interrogations précises concernant la gestion d’ensemble du bassin.

 

Phase 2 :  le GDR “Systèmes fluviaux anthropisés” (1993-1996)

Dans ce contexte, les objectifs scientifiques de la seconde phase du programme se devaient de couvrir de manière beaucoup plus globale l’ensemble des processus liés à la qualité de l’eau dans le bassin.  Si l’accent avait été mis dans la première phase du programme sur la dimension longitudinale du continuum aquatique (le gradient amont-aval), l’essentiel des efforts a été consacré cette fois aux interactions transversales que les cours d’eaux entretiennent avec leurs zones riveraines (zones humides, annexes hydrauliques). Le rôle des zones humides dans la rétention des nutriments en provenance du bassin versant ou des cours d’eau eux-mêmes, le rôle des zones inondables dans la reproduction du brochet, le rôle des barrages réservoirs comme source d’organismes ou comme puits de nutriments et de matières en suspension, le rôle des annexes hydrauliques comme zones de nutrition ou de reproduction des poissons, … ont  ainsi été étudiés en détail.  On s’est également attaché à développer une meilleure compréhension du cycle urbain de l’eau et des polluants qui l’accompagnent et du devenir de ces polluants dans le milieu fluvial.  Collectivement, les résultats acquis à l’issue de cette 2ème phase dans les différents thèmes offrent une vision d’ensemble du fonctionnement biogéochimique du ‘système Seine’, vu sous l’angle de la circulation de la matière (matières en suspension, nutriments, matière organique, oxygène, micropolluants) et des équilibres trophiques dans l’ensemble du réseau hydrographique.

L'unité de démarche qui sous-tend la plupart des travaux du programme réside dans le recours à une forme originale de modélisation utilisée tout à la fois comme outil de compréhension et comme moyen d’aide à la décision.  Comprendre, c'est, dans le cas qui nous occupe, établir le lien entre la cinétique de ces processus et le fonctionnement macroscopique de l'écosystème, tel qu'il se manifeste par les flux de matière entre ses principaux constituants et par leurs variations dans l’espace et le temps.  Les modèles, comme nous les concevons, permettent d’établir ce lien.   Une fois validés, ces modèles permettent également de simuler la réponse du système à une modification des contraintes auxquelles il est soumis.  Ces modèles, bien qu’en permanence remaniés et enrichis, sont maintenant parfaitement opérationnels et ont déjà été utilisés pour simuler des scénarios précis d’aménagement et en optimiser la conception (amélioration de l’infrastructure d’assainissement de la région Ile de France, application de diverses directives européennes, …). Ils constituent le produit le plus tangible et le plus directement utilisable du programme PIREN-Seine.

 

Phases 3 et 4 :  La Seine, son bassin versant et son histoire (1998-2006)

En janvier 1998, après la rédaction d’un ouvrage collectif de synthèse: “La Seine en son Bassin: Fonctionnement écologique d’un système fluvial anthropisé” (Meybeck, et al. 1998), une troisième phase du PIREN-Seine a été mise en place, sous la direction de Gilles Billen, autour de deux axes fédérateurs :

– Le premier de ces axes résidait dans la volonté de replacer davantage le réseau hydrographique dans la complexité du fonctionnement de son bassin versant.  Il s’agissait, par exemple, de reconnaître la contamination nitrique comme la manifestation de l’ouverture du cycle terrestre de l’azote lié au développement de l’agriculture et de la chaîne agro-alimentaire moderne ; d’analyser les flux de métaux lourds transférés par le réseau fluvial comme un aspect du ‘métabolisme industriel’, c’est à dire comme la conséquence des flux de production et de consommation de ces métaux par l’activité industrielle et domestique.  Il fallait donc faire une place, dans les travaux d’écologie du milieu aquatique, à l’écologie industrielle du ‘Système Seine’.

– Le second axe fédérateur consistait dans la prise en compte du temps long. Prendre en compte le temps, c’est reconnaître la nature dynamique de l’hydrosystème, c’est voir le fonctionnement présent comme le résultat d’une histoire qu’il convient de reconstituer, non pas seulement de manière narrative ou descriptive, mais dans le détail des mécanismes mis en jeu. Les modèles établis pour rendre compte du fonctionnement présent doivent aussi pouvoir s’appliquer aux états passés de l’hydrosystème, et permettre de faire le lien entre l’évolution de l’activité humaine dans le bassin et celle du fonctionnement de l’écosystème et de la qualité de l’eau.  Cet accroissement de ‘profondeur de champ’ des modèles devait aussi permettre de les utiliser de manière prospective pour établir l’état de l’hydrosystème correspondant à divers scénarios d’évolution future du socio-système que sous-tend le bassin.

Un numéro spécial de la revue Science of the total Environment (Human Activity and Material Fluxes in a regional River Basin: The Seine River watershed , 375, 1-292) a permis de dresser le bilan des acquis de ces 8 années de recherches à l’intention de la communauté scientifique internationale.

 

Phase 5 : Risques sanitaires, paysages, territoires (2007-2010)

Jean Marie Mouchel a pris le flambeau en 2007. La 5ème phase du programme qu’il a mis en place s’articule autour de 3 volets qui enrichissent le programme de problématiques nouvelles.

De nombreux travaux sont ainsi consacrés dans cette phase aux micropolluants émergents : molécules nouvelles aux effets encore mal connus, médicaments, agents pathogènes. Les risques que ces substances sont susceptibles de faire courir en matière de santé publique sont au cœur des interrogations.

Dans l’axe paysage, il s'agit d'analyser non seulement le fonctionnement et la qualité des milieux (cours d’eau, avec une grande place aux petites rivières péri-urbaines, zones humides, bassins versants) mais aussi la perception qu’en ont les riverains, et l'organisation sociale qui en sous-tend les usages. Les préoccupations d'ingénierie écologique prennent ici toute leur place.

Le volet territoires, carbone, azote et changements globaux donne une nouvelle dimension aux travaux précédents du programme sur les cycles couplés du carbone et des nutriments dans le bassin. A l'heure de la réforme de la PAC, de la montée des prix des céréales et des agro-carburants, l'avenir du bassin de la Seine et de la qualité de ses eaux passe nécessairement par une analyse intégrée de ces multiples enjeux liés au changement global.

 

Phase 6 (2011-2014)

Pour sa 6ème phase, le programme PIREN-Seine a proposé de structurer ses travaux autour de 5 axes de recherche principaux. Ils ont eté dessinés pour répondre à la majorité des questionnements de nos partenaires, et sont bien entendu en forte cohérence avec les grands enjeux identifiés pour le bassin de la Seine par ses principaux acteurs.

Ils ont été traduits en objectifs pour nos recherches, ainsi résumés :
– proposer pour le bassin de la Seine des scénarios pour l'agriculture qui soient compatibles avec les exigences de qualité de l'eau ;
– identifier le rôle des zones humides, en passant d'études localisées à une vision fonctionnelle d'ensemble à l'échelle du bassin de la Seine, y compris pour la zone humide emblématique qu'est la Bassée ;
– affiner notre compréhension de la qualité de l'eau dans les axes fluviaux, dans le contexte d'une amélioration très significative et face aux enjeux plus stricts du bon état ;
– comprendre les relations entre les pressions chimiques et l'état écologique dans un bassin où la pression des activités humaines est très forte et évaluer les relations pression/état dans le temps ;
– comprendre la pression chimique et sa dynamique sur de longues échelles de temps en différenciant les différents facteurs, humains et liés aux milieux physiques qui constituent le bassin.

En support à ces actions structurantes, et aussi en raison de leur pertinence propre, plusieurs thèmes transversaux (figurés par les marches d'escalier sur la figure ci-dessous) sont développés. Ils sont à la fois porteurs de développements scientifiques et techniques spécifiques et supports pour le développement des axes de recherche précités :

La modélisation qui reste un outil majeur du programme, portée par un thème de recherche dédié, notamment pour coordonner les développements communs.

Un effort particulier a été consacré au développement de bases de données qui soient structurées d'une manière plus homogène pour l'ensemble du programme, y compris pour des données cartographiques. Elles permettent le stockage et la restitution des nombreuses nouvelles données à acquérir, ainsi que des résultats des modélisations, et facilitent le partage d'informations en interne comme en externe.

La cartographie historique qui est à la fois un thème de recherche, quant à la compréhension du contexte et de la signification des cartes, est un outil particulièrement utilisé au cours de cette phase.

Enfin, le thème transversal changement d'échelle a fait l'objet d'une mention particulière puisqu'une partie des travaux développés n'ont pas de fonction support pour les axes de recherche. Le thème changement d'échelle concerne à la fois la physique et la modélisation et les habitants du bassin.

 

Phase 7 (2015-2020)